TPS???

• Hi, I have the 1.8 V6 which drives really smoothly until I give it a bit of stick. I can drive it quite hard for a good few miles and it runs so well, but when I get close to home and sit at lights etc the engine starts to splutter and the rev counter jumps around. It is then very juddery on acceleration. Left overnignt it returnes to normal. If I drive around town it never shows up, just after its had a 'good' drive.

Any ideas before I start poking around (I'm a bit of a novice so don't want to try setting the TPS if its not the cause), and if it is TPS would it not be doing this all the time and from cold?

Many Thanks for any help…

• I would say no to TPS as the signal should not be affected by temperature and can be measured under any condition IIRC.

So what changes after you give it some stick. Something doesn't like getting hot and causes the problems. Maybe a sensor out of range?

If you drive the car normal for a time will the smoothness return or does it have to cool down overnight (as you say)

• Quite possibly the coil in the distributor starting to go. Renowned for getting cooked then failing.

• Mine first mx did the same with the dizzy
    try just replacing cap and rotor arm to start then if still the same you may need one of these ingnition coils

make sure you get the correct one, there are 2 types for the MX3 on cap arm and coil for the V6
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MAZDA-MX3-MX-3-MX-6-626-1-8-2-0-2-5-IGNITION-COIL-NEW-FITS-IN-DISTRIBUTOR-/200903709533?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item2ec6cb535d

• YEP! I concur with the above knowledgeable fellows, COIL or HALL trigger unit? :shock: I have had both go on two separate occasions and symptoms are very similar?