How to save petrol with the v6?

• hi lads,
    how can i save petty with the 1.8 v6,getting a joke now,i got this car as i needed a car that was good on petty,tbh my t5 2.3 turbo eats about the same which defeats the idea.

10 quid say 20 mile?
    im a 5th gear driver to and roll down hills.
    doing my had in now as it seems that im popping 10 notes in just to go the shop and stuff.
    atb

• They are juicy beasts, i get about 200 miles per tank… :shock:

They are well known for being a bit thirsty, not alot you can do about it to be honest. Other than drive real light throttle and remove excess weight.

• how to save. take all excess weight out (Misses) lol standard air filters. correct tyre pressure.

or PARK IT

• going to be a use if desperate one tbh.

mechanic,whats the klze like on petty mate?
    thanks for replys

• I am intrigued by this.
    Only had the car 4 weeks and filled her up to check consumption. When she was down to below quarter full as per gauge, filled her up again.
    She took £33.33 of juice. At 109.9p/L that is about 30 litres or 6.6 galls.
    I had 224 miles on the clock which equals nearly 33mpg.

Now I am very happy with that as apart from daily trip to work - about 10 miles part urban mostly country road - I also do plenty of short urban trips to shops, pub etc.
    So, is my maths wrong or don't you guys get this sort of mileage?

On the second fill-up I went from Swindon to Worcester (mostly dual carriageway or M5) at 65-70 mph plus some local miles and got about 270 miles from £36 quids worth of petrol.

Also, how come, when gauge was showing nearly empty, I was only able to get 6.6 gallons into an 11 gallon tank? Gauges not reliably accurate?

• HA Ha i'm lucky to get 200 miles to a tank!
    since i've stopped "enjoying" my car i can just squeeze the 200 for €55

• @163014e6f8=Rod: