Dodgy handbrake

• Hi folks, need to pick your collective brains.

Took the car for the mot and the only issue I have is that the handbrake only operates the LR brake.

I have taken the offending caliper off, stripped, cleaned and reassembled. Bled all 4 corners and took it for a test. Naturally the brakes where improved as the fluid was manky but with the handbrake firmly on I can still turn the RR round (though there is improved resistance it's still no near what it should be)

Any suggestions where to go next :?:

The caliper came apart really easy and the piston is in good shape but obviously the problem is the handbrake mechanism.

Edit : I have not made and adjustment to the brake (don't know how to do this as I have never done it before). But I'm assuming I don't have enough play in the lever for the handbrake.

• OK, decided to remove the caliper again and have another go. Managed to get more movement in the handbrake lever (can now turn it with fingers). Unfortunately I noticed that moving this had no affect on moving the piston. It feels like moving rubber TBH.

Any ideas folks :?:

Anyone have a good RR caliper they can send to me :?:

Cheers.

• OK, decided to remove the caliper again and have another go. Managed to get more movement in the handbrake lever (can now turn it with fingers). Unfortunately I noticed that moving this had no affect on moving the piston. It feels like moving rubber TBH.

Any ideas folks :?:

Anyone have a good RR caliper they can send to me :?:

Cheers.

• possibly stretched cable, unfortunately changed MOT rules this year mean the rear brakes have to be balanced
    ( i guess for drifting and hand brake skids in macdonalds)

if the caliper is working fine on the brake test by foot pedal next step is the cable ( do both if you are going to replace)

• @718c76dac8=djmarcopolo:

possibly stretched cable, unfortunately changed MOT rules this year mean the rear brakes have to be balanced