Will a bigger exhaust cause me to lose power?

• Heya guys,

Im new to the forum & also a bit of a broke rookie when it comes to cars.
    Im wanting to upgrade my exhaust system on my 1993 Mazda Eunos 30x.
    Its the stock standard 1.8 v6 K series otherwise known as an Australian version of an MX3 as y'all already know.

The standard exhaust is the twin pipe muffler but i have an even bigger twin pipe muffler siting in storage.
    Im actually just wondering if i put the bigger muffler on will i lose power or gain it?

Im also wondering if it is actually worth getting a sports exhaust run through, im thinking itll increase hp but then again its pretty bloody zippy atm anyway. There are some ppl who say replace the catback with high flow or remove the 2nd catback.?. suggestions and or corrections on this would appreciated

Any insight or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, please be kind as im still learning :)

Cheers Kris :)

• welcome to the site

im using a 4inch sportex back box and i dont think its any slower but sounds great if thats any help

• Hi Jay,

Thanx for the weclome & the insight.
    hmmmm.
    so i should be ok then.
    Moneys tight, will letchu know how it goes when its done.

kewl thanx :)

• Heya, the more easily the engine can get rid of exhaust gases the better it is, need to get rid of the cat and that will help

remember the more BHP you want the more fuel its costs lol

• heey hang on, isnt it illegal to remove the cat tho, due to emissions n stuff?

Well ive done some little budget mods already.

*Got a lil thing called "the magic battery booster", its cool & it works. really just boost the battery power to full potential.

*Then i got a HKS air pressure regulator, which is also variable but u retard it & it runs like crap, advance it & she goes quite hard, improves the torque/takeoff very well me thinks. (but again as you said the more hp you get the more fuel u use & over here in OZ premium fuel is about $1.55+.)