Pink MX-3 owners, do not suffer in silence!

• **So, I have a 1998 in Blaze Red. She's even called Red. But she's pink. And, given that she's pretty much as new as you can get and has been in my family for 8 years, I honestly dread to think just how pink some of my fellow Blaze Red owners' cars are.

But all is not lost. No. With the simple outlay of a day of my life, the red has returned to Red (except the bits that are rustier than Anne Widdicombe's vagina) and you too can manage this.

1. Wash
    The car. Yourself too if you're feeling sporty. Now, there's a right way and several billion wrong ways to wash a car and… well, since I'm not a professional car detailer, my way is one of the wrong ways but it works so sod off.

1a) Pressure washer. Get all that volcanic ash crap off your car with some decent hosing.
    1b) Wash. A sponge and a nice big bucket of soapy water with a decent quality car shampoo. AutoGlym works for me, but do your own thing. The key to this step is a second big bucket of not soapy water and periodically rinsing the sponge off in it.
    1c) Pressure washer. Get all that soapy sud crap off your car with some decent hosing.
    1d) Dry. Microfibre cloth or a chamois. Whatever works for you. Just don't let it air dry or, worse, sun dry.

2. T-Cut
    Bog standard T-Cut on a nice, dry duster. Apply in gentle dobs to the duster (I cover the top, and invert the bottle briefly), NEVER DIRECT TO THE CAR, and rub on hard in circular motions. The amount I use is good for 10"x10" at a time.

Allow the first area you did to dry to a white bloom - a good 15 minutes - and reapply to any parts that, now you can see it white, you missed. When that's dry too, rub off with a second nice, dry duster. I do it either in straight lines or with the flow of the body, but again you want to do this hard.