Car wont start!!!

• Hi all, i'm new to this and the mx3 world. i love my mx3 but having problems with it! bought it last year and its always been a great runner. started first time, never failed me!
    anyway, i had the car up and changed the timing, alternator and power steering belts. lined up the timing with the markings on the engine and cog, etc! it was starting first time whilst still up as i was doing other little bits and pieces. one day, during the cold snap, my dad started the car and left it running. he then heard a few clicking/ticking noise and then the engine cut.
    i have changed spark plugs, charged the battery, tried it with jump leads but nothing. the engine sounds like it wants to start but it wont catch/fire. i can smell petrol so i think its not a fuel problem.
    sorry its so long winded!
    can anyone help!
    thanks
    kai

• Take the cover off the timing belt and make sure its all tight underneath
    If not theres ya problem, it could be the tensioner has gone and thrown the timing out and if it rattled badly when it died it could be the valves are knackered now and it will not start as the valves will not shut to get compression, if you have a compression tester bang that on all 3 front cyclinders and aim for about 150psi.

If it did not sound like metal clattering together then it may have died to do with fuel

If it wont start and you have fuel + spark then its a sensor but try the other 2 first

to test spark take out a spark plug put it back onto the HT lead then put the threaded part of the plug onto any bare metal on the engine and get someone to turn the engine over while you hold the lead and watch it spark
    WARNING its quite dangerous just do not touch the metal work or you may get a shock and only hold the rubber part on the HT lead
    If no spark its going to be with the distributer

Make sure the fuel pump is working, you may be able to smell it but the filter might be clogged or its not pumping enough.