Grinding sound from engine

• My k8 made the same exact sound im betting everyone its the gearbox very low or empty of gear oil please just check its so easy

take a 15/16 wrench or socket set and the check plug is next to the starter. . Driver side

my best advice remove airbox or cai and just to it under the hood. . Unless you can safely get under the car.

Best luck keep us updated i hope its just low

terry

• ok after finding nothing, as im no mechanic and dont see bad things i took it inot Kwik Fit for a quick free check.

Point raised are -

OSF anti roll bar link
    OSF lower arm
    NSF Wheel bearing

Anyone know a good place to pick these up as they wanted £300 quid plus and im sure they aint that expensive.

If anyone has some that they wanna get rid please let me know :)

Cheers all

• Not being funny but if you push the clutch in and the noise goes away, it will be to do with that. none of those will make that noise

the 2 OSF will make clunking noises while moving

The wheel bearing if its completely shot will make that noise when you are going along and will change with the speed of the car and usually sounds like a light aircraft taking taxiing down the runway but again pushing the clutch in will do nothing with the noise of this and will only make a noise when moving

Things to do when you get these problems

1 DONT GO TO HALFRAUDS !!!!!!! If you even take it for an MOT at Halfrauds they will always fail it on brake discs, company policy and makes them cash every time - all discs are scored - not many are dangerous

Find a decent mobile mechanic and ask him if he can give you a clue to what it is and how much, he will tell you for free just by taking it for a 2 minute drive and quote you there on the spot, his hours will be less than a garage as he doesnt have the overheads and if he cannot do it in your driveway or car park he will recommend you to someone who can